SUMMER’S END | WINTER PLEDGE

Next Time I Complain About Winter

Remind me of the scorching summer days I survived but didn’t think I would

Patricia Timmermans
3 min readSep 24, 2024

--

Photo by Tim Gouw on Unsplash

I’m the first to lament winter blizzards and write mournful poems of eternal snow while bragging about how Canadians endure it all, standing outdoors in short sleeves and rolled-up capris.

And I do most of my shameless boasting while drinking a hot beverage in front of the fire.

Finally, however, the weather network says we’re done with blistering heat in Southern Alberta, and I’m thanking the universe.

I need to throw open the windows and let fresh autumn air in, rather than close them to contain chilly conditioned air.

How was this summer so bad?

We had almost no breaks from +30C degrees and minimal relief overnight; even the plants drooped, begging for a cool northern breeze. But rather than a breeze, we experienced hail and windstorms.

This is my destructive hail story:

--

--

Patricia Timmermans

With my guide dog, Cooper, I volunteer at the CNIB and visit schools to raise awareness for sight loss. Dogs and kids’ questions make the best stories. 🇨🇦